History of the Society

The Society was originally established in 1962 by two masters, Mr Douglas Cook and Mr Paul Ellis.

Dr Francis Brown became honorary President. Their intention was to run the Society until the first wave of former pupils were old enough to take over. In the first few years, there were a number of old boys’ rugby and cricket matches, formal dinners, a carol service and the AGMs.

The Society grew in confidence and so did membership as the years went by, encouraged by news of past pupils and social events which appeared in the School magazine ‘The Peacock’. 

Vivian Williams (1965) became the first former pupil to be appointed Secretary in 1967, and Nigel Lambert (1965) the first to be appointed Chairman of the Society in 1972. The current Chairman and Treasurer is Tony Baker (1964) and the current Secretary is Isobel Landon (2009). Tony Baker (1964) is the only former pupil to have been Treasurer of the Society (since 1968) and the School owes him a great debt of gratitude for his continued support to both the Society and the School. 

The School now holds annual social events including the Reunion Dinner and Sports Festival for all Old Cokethorpeans and receives regular visits from OCs who organise their own reunions or simply ‘drop in’ when passing the School.

The Foundation Office helps maintain the database of former pupils, coordinates the mailings, organises the events and is a point of contact for any former pupil wishing to get in touch with the School or another Society member. The Foundation Office also publishes Society news in the termly newsletter, The Ocellus as well as on the website and social media.